Press "Enter" to skip to content

Game Guides

Uh oh! You've reached a glitched section of Hard Drive where the news is real!

Overwatch 2 Ranks Guide: OW2 Ranking System Explained

We’ve got you covered in the competitive mode grind with our Overwatch 2 ranks guide! Overwatch 2 has made several fundamental changes to the game’s ranked mode (Competitive Play) since its prequel. Even for a returning veteran, these changes can make it harder for them to picture their rank progression. We’ll help clear out some of the confusion.   

Overwatch 2 Ranked Mode Explained

Newer players will have to first get 50 wins in Quick Play to be able to hop into Competitive Play. Folks who have played the original Overwatch can jump straight in. 

Overwatch 2 has two modes within ranked games, with each having its own rankings.   

Role Queue

Here, you’re stuck with a single class of your choice in a game. Before you matchmake, you’ll have to pick between tank, damage, and support. Once picked, and a lobby is found, you can no longer change during the match.  

Each team composition is made up of 1 tank, 2 damage, and 2 support roles.


In the Role Queue, each of your classes has its own separate rank. So if you rank up with support, that rank will only belong to all heroes that are of the support class.

Open Queue 

In Open Queue, there is a single universal rank, and you get to pick and switch any hero during a match. Outside of these permanent modes, there are occasional limited time modes as well. For example, each Lunar New Year, Overwatch 2 brings a limited-time Competitive CTF event.

Overwatch 2 Ranking Guide: What Are The Ranks In Overwatch 2?

Overwatch 2 Ranks Guide: all OW2 skill tiers.

Whatever mode you play, the naming scheme is the same. To help you easily understand the otherwise convoluted naming, here’s what you need to know:

There are 8 Skill Tiers, that are essentially your “major” rank. In an ascending order of their value:

  • Bronze 
  • Silver 
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond 
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Top 500

To climb upwards from a given skill tier, you’ll have to first progress through divisions within these tiers. There are five of them—5, 4, 3, 2, and 1, with 1 being the best division within each skill tier.  

So suppose you are ranked Bronze 5. After a few positive performances you’ll, ideally, progress to Bronze 4, next to 3, and to 2 & 1. After that, you’ll move on to the next Skill Tier’s lowest division, which is Silver 5. 

How Do You Rank Up in OW2?

In Overwatch 1, life was simple. There was a linear progression, one that was quantifiable. In Overwatch 2, though, it is… well, nobody knows. 

Essentially, you have a top-secret hidden MMR (Matchmaking rating), which the game won’t disclose to you but is solely responsible for your rank placement. After every 5 wins or 15 losses—whichever comes first—the game will update your rank based on your MMR. Suppose you won 5 matches before you lost 15, the game will place you to your newer rank based on your MMR. 

While there are no real known specifics as to how these ratings are allocated and labeled internally, it is most likely to be around your kills, deaths, wins, or other parameters that affect the same. It could still be just wins and losses but there hasn’t been any confirmation from Blizzard. Unfortunately, all you can do is win and hope to be rewarded.

What are the Ranked Rewards in Overwatch 2? 

In Overwatch 2, you’re rewarded with CP (Competitive Points) based on your rank when the season ends and each wins and draws. CP is used for buying golden weapons, one cost 3000. Golden guns are only cosmetics with no gameplay improvements. 

For each win, you get 25 CP and for a draw, you get 5. 

*Note: earlier in the game’s life, this was 15 & 5 respectively, but +10 for a win was later added in Season 4. So if you read elsewhere that you get 15, and you’re getting 25, no, you’re not special.

Here are the current rewards you get based on your highest rank across both queues, as of July 5, 2023: 

Final RankCP RewardedAdditional Rewards: Title
Bronze 300 
Silver 450 
Platinum 800Platinum Role/Open Challenger 
Diamond1000Diamond Role/Open Challenger
Master1200Master Role/Open Challenger
Grandmaster1500Grandmaster Role/Open Challenger
Top 5001500Top 500 Role/Open Challenger

If you play Overwatch 2 competitive play loads, even if you lose, there is a reward for merely playing: a title.

  •  Adept Competitor for 250 games. 
  •  Seasoned Competitor for 750 games. 
  •  Expert Competitor for 1,750 games. 

That’s all you need to know about Overwatch 2 ranked mode! Check out our other guides on how to unlock Lifeweaver and how to earn Overwatch coins (though those methods are limited).